Register
Welcome to the Stormspire.net WoW Gold Forums!

Greetings, guest! Welcome to Stormspire.net, your #1 resource for WoW and Diablo 3 Gold, Professions, and everything in between!


Enjoy what the site offers? Consider Premium Membership if you wish to get the most out of the site. Premium Membership benefits include the acclaimed Goblineer's World of Warcraft Gold Guide, private forum access, a complimentary high-quality avatar, and much more!


If this is your first visit, make sure to check out the Stormspire.net Survival Guide for a quick site orientation. You may also register to unlock all standard forum features, and to get rid of these lovely ads!


We proudly host the Official forums for TradeSkillMaster, The Undermine Journal, and WoWuction.

Page 2 of 3 First 123 Last
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    US-Emerald Dream(Both)
    Your Favorite Goblin
    Kathroman's Avatar
    Posts
    4,890
    Reputation
    257
    Blog Entries
    6
    Tagged in
    1863 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by Draven006 View Post
    Yeah unfortunately there isn't any.
    If Item Tracker is on the Quest watcher of Carbonite just doesn't update, no errors, just breaks the feed through form the Blizzard Quest Log to the Carbonite Quest watcher, so not realy an error for an lua to pick up, just lack of communication.

    The reason i say it is TSM blocking the comunication is this
    This is TSM files and dates released
    r121 Alpha Normal Sep 14, 2013
    • 5.4.0
    TradeSkillMaster_ItemTracker-r121.zip 1,026
    v2.0.5 Release Normal Sep 12, 2013
    • 5.4.0
    TradeSkillMaster_ItemTracker-v2.0.5.zip 26,678
    r119 Alpha Normal Sep 12, 2013
    • 5.4.0
    TradeSkillMaster_ItemTracker-r119.zip 0
    and this is Carbonites
    5.4.0-Alpha-1r1 Alpha Normal Sep 13, 2013
    • 5.4.0
    CarboniteBETA-540a1r1.zip 6,282
    5.4.0-Alpha-1 Alpha Normal Sep 11, 2013
    • 5.4.0
    CarboniteBETA-540a1.zip 3,949
    5.3.0-Alpha-2 Alpha Normal Aug 06, 2013
    • 5.3.0
    CarboniteBETA-530a2.zip 4,926
    you can see that Carbonite was updated on the 13th and tsm on the 14th
    So on the 13th everything was working right (with the v2.0.5 of TSM), but then on the 14th something went wrong between these two addons.
    I know it might seem logical, but just because it only started happening after the update of 1 addon doesn't necessarily mean the problem lies with that one. If every single feature of TSM Itemtracker is always firing in conjunction with every single feature of carbonite, then perhaps. Otherwise, there may have been some dormant incompatibilities that only started triggering with this update that have actually been there for awhile.

    Furthermore - I wouldn't jump to the conclusion that the error is on the TSM end simply because it seems like TSM is "blocking" carbonite. In fact, that would suggest (for me, personally) an issue with carbonite in putting itself in a position to BE blocked. At the very least, I'd submit a ticket with the carbonite developers as well.

    Lastly, you'll really want to ensure that error reporting is enabled on your wow client and double check for lua errors. Without it, your only hope here is that either developer will immediately recognize which of the several thousands of lines of code is causing the issue. Not being a developer of either addon, I can't say for certain how realistic of an expectation this is, but I just wouldn't hold my breath if I were you...
    Like what you see? Become an Ethereal Contributor to help support the site and gain access to additional perks.

        

    Guides: Thunder Bluff Vendor Supply Route | Entry Level JC Strategy | Alternative DMF Guide

    TSM 2.0: TSM 2.0 Groups & Operations GUIDE | TSM 2.0 Basic JC Shuffler | TSM 2.0 ADVANCED JC Shuffler

  2. #12
    US-Stormreaver
    Wind Trader
    ShaddamV's Avatar
    Posts
    288
    Reputation
    61
    Tagged in
    85 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    I've double checked, and the reported behavior is true - with TSM on, Carbonite's quest tracker doesn't update. No LUA errors at all. That said, Kathroman is correct that reporting this to Carbonite is very important. Their code is a maze to me, so even guessing at where the quest tracking happens took over 30 minutes and nothing obvious was there. The fact that another addon *can* do this to Carbonite points to the issue being at their end -- addons shouldn't cross communicate unless expressly designed to, so either it's using odd Event triggers or it's in their Panel libraries (not properly localized so trying to use libraries from other addons).

  3. #13
    US-Emerald Dream(Both)
    Your Favorite Goblin
    Kathroman's Avatar
    Posts
    4,890
    Reputation
    257
    Blog Entries
    6
    Tagged in
    1863 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by ShaddamV View Post
    I've double checked, and the reported behavior is true - with TSM on, Carbonite's quest tracker doesn't update. No LUA errors at all. That said, Kathroman is correct that reporting this to Carbonite is very important. Their code is a maze to me, so even guessing at where the quest tracking happens took over 30 minutes and nothing obvious was there. The fact that another addon *can* do this to Carbonite points to the issue being at their end -- addons shouldn't cross communicate unless expressly designed to, so either it's using odd Event triggers or it's in their Panel libraries (not properly localized so trying to use libraries from other addons).
    Right, my ASSUMPTION would be that Blizzard would design their addon API so that addons wouldn't be allowed to interfere with one another. As such, if an addon is being "blocked" in some way, it actually makes the most sense for the "victim" addon to be misconfigured in some way.

    Unfortunate that there isn't an error dump for you, but definitely bring this issue up with the carbonite developers if you'd like to see it resolved.
    Like what you see? Become an Ethereal Contributor to help support the site and gain access to additional perks.

        

    Guides: Thunder Bluff Vendor Supply Route | Entry Level JC Strategy | Alternative DMF Guide

    TSM 2.0: TSM 2.0 Groups & Operations GUIDE | TSM 2.0 Basic JC Shuffler | TSM 2.0 ADVANCED JC Shuffler

  4. #14
    Entrepreneur
    Draven006's Avatar
    Posts
    9
    Reputation
    0
    Tagged in
    4 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by ShaddamV View Post
    I've double checked, and the reported behavior is true - with TSM on, Carbonite's quest tracker doesn't update. No LUA errors at all. That said, Kathroman is correct that reporting this to Carbonite is very important. Their code is a maze to me, so even guessing at where the quest tracking happens took over 30 minutes and nothing obvious was there. The fact that another addon *can* do this to Carbonite points to the issue being at their end -- addons shouldn't cross communicate unless expressly designed to, so either it's using odd Event triggers or it's in their Panel libraries (not properly localized so trying to use libraries from other addons).
    Ok i will get onto Carbonite, I am glad that you have double checked, and i am grateful that you posted it here, (i was beginning to feel like i was being kicked out the door for being stupid)

    Kathroman, thank you for taking your time in replying to all of this and all your post will be helpful to Carbonite developer.

    FYI Carbonite has now been made GPL, so there is more than one person working on it but i know the main guy.

    I will post what ever Carbonite has to say just to keep everyone here informed.

  5. #15
    Apprentice
    Rythal's Avatar
    Posts
    2
    Reputation
    0
    Tagged in
    3 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by Draven006 View Post
    FYI Carbonite has now been made GPL, so there is more than one person working on it but i know the main guy.
    I only wish that was the case, but no... I'm just one person. Your not the only one to of noticed this incompatability between the two addons.

    I will take a look to try and figure out what is happening, but I admit I am a little baffled myself ... There is nothing in the code that should be affected by an external source like that.

  6. #16
    EU-DarkSpear(A)
    TSM Developer
    Bart39's Avatar
    Posts
    1,136
    Reputation
    58
    Tagged in
    368 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by Rythal View Post
    I only wish that was the case, but no... I'm just one person. Your not the only one to of noticed this incompatability between the two addons.

    I will take a look to try and figure out what is happening, but I admit I am a little baffled myself ... There is nothing in the code that should be affected by an external source like that.
    Hey Rythal - welcome the only changes we made were the inclusion of some background threaded tasks that make use of debugprofilestop()and debugprofilestart()

    are you using those in carbonite anywhere ?
    Sic has joined #TradeSkillMaster
    I love you all. TSM Has given me children.
    That is all.
    Sic has left #TradeSkillMaster

    TSM Application Developer / Assistant Addon Developer

    For information: TSM Website, TSM Addon, TSM App.
    Also Follow TSM on Twitter, and Like TSM on Facebook!
    If you need help with any of the above hop on Chat. It's much faster than posting

  7. #17
    Entrepreneur
    Draven006's Avatar
    Posts
    9
    Reputation
    0
    Tagged in
    4 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Thanks Rythal for coming to this thread and posting, i know you are a man of hard work with carbonite after all you have done since the original authors stopped supporting the addon, i have been following your work since since you were doing the fan update and before carbonite was GPL.

    I am glad to see Bart39 here too, i appreciate the work you guys have put into this addon and i has helped me make so much gold i really dont know what to spend it on :-)

    That said i love both these addons and hope that it can be fixed.

    However i have chosen to add a link here to point out that it is not just TSM with Carbonite but EPGP also does the same problem (I dont have this EPGP so i am going purley on another post)
    http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=46937

    Maybe if we can find what the similarities or what code is being used on both these addons, then Rythal might have a starting point to re-script a few things for Carbonite.

    Great work guys on 2 amazing addons.

  8. #18
    Apprentice
    Rythal's Avatar
    Posts
    2
    Reputation
    0
    Tagged in
    3 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by Bart39 View Post
    Hey Rythal - welcome the only changes we made were the inclusion of some background threaded tasks that make use of debugprofilestop()and debugprofilestart()

    are you using those in carbonite anywhere ?
    It's those changes exactly that is affecting carbonite. anytime any addon calls debugprofilestart it resets the debug profiler for every addon, and I do use debugprofilestop in the quest window to time how often updates to it are allowed to be done. (and I confirmed it by commenting out your 2 debugprofilestart lines).

    http://wowprogramming.com/docs/api/debugprofilestart
    I never read up on the fact one addon can kill every addon using profilestop before, but at least now we know what causes it.
    Last edited by Rythal; September 22nd, 2013 at 03:28 AM.

  9. #19
    Sapy on US-Tichondrius(H)
    TSM Lead Developer
    Sapu94's Avatar
    Posts
    4,662
    Reputation
    241
    Blog Entries
    19
    Tagged in
    1361 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by Rythal View Post
    It's those changes exactly that is affecting carbonite. anytime any addon calls debugprofilestart it resets the debug profiler for every addon, and I do use debugprofilestop in the quest window to time how often updates to it are allowed to be done. (and I confirmed it by commenting out your 2 debugprofilestart lines).

    http://wowprogramming.com/docs/api/debugprofilestart
    I never read up on the fact one addon can kill every addon using profilestop before, but at least now we know what causes it.
    I've seen a bunch of addons that use debugprofilestart/stop, so surprised this hasn't come up sooner. Not sure what the best solution is, but perhaps a common library which hooks the two functions somehow would be worth looking into. I'll be around in IRC almost all day (PDT) if you want to discuss this further - going to sleep now though.


    Follow me and TSM on Twitter for important updates, news, and giveaways!
    TSM Website | TSM Chat Channel (IRC) | Donate | TSM FAQ

    "A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street." ~Doug Linder

  10. #20
    Sapy on US-Tichondrius(H)
    TSM Lead Developer
    Sapu94's Avatar
    Posts
    4,662
    Reputation
    241
    Blog Entries
    19
    Tagged in
    1361 Posts
    Add to this user's reputation
    @Rythal , I've found a very simple way to solve this issue for all addons, as long as they aren't storing a local copy of the two functions in question. I know Auctioneer also uses them, so I'll be contacting them. Find me in IRC if you're interested in discussing this further.


    Follow me and TSM on Twitter for important updates, news, and giveaways!
    TSM Website | TSM Chat Channel (IRC) | Donate | TSM FAQ

    "A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street." ~Doug Linder

 

 
Page 2 of 3 First 123 Last

Similar Threads

  1. [Bug] TSM2 Post Scan Disconnect
    By Devi in forum Official TradeSkillMaster Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 16th, 2013, 08:30 PM
  2. [Question] How to reset/ or reinstall tsm2 to start over?
    By sherryk in forum Official TradeSkillMaster Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 11th, 2013, 04:08 PM
  3. [Question] Copying TSM2 to another computer
    By gardibolt in forum Official TradeSkillMaster Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 10th, 2013, 11:17 PM
  4. [General] my opinion about tsm and tsm2 (some things that had to be said)
    By Dayta in forum Official TradeSkillMaster Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 4th, 2013, 01:34 PM
  5. [Question] macro for destroying for tsm2?
    By Permi in forum Official TradeSkillMaster Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 19th, 2013, 03:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •